RSS

23rd Sunday Year A. A realhomilie from Fr.Kevin Walsh Number 13

01 Sep

Dear One and All,

This week our household here has been in disarray! Last Sunday morning at around 4.00am, our beautiful Sheltie Collie died in my sister’s arms! The Thursday before, my Mum and I went to the Vet to have some X-Rays done on Tara, and late in the afternoon, when we went to pick up our Dog, Tara, the Vet told us that our poor Dog was in a very dark space, with two massive Cancer growths, and a number of smaller ones. You can imagine our we felt? My dear Mum was especially close to Tara, and the Dog was always in Mum’s shadow.

This photo was taken last Saturday, while Tara’s life was slipping away, but not her love!

Here is a pic of my sister, Genny ( Sr.Genevieve RSC) on that same fateful day. So without going on and on about this tragedy, I just did not have the energy to put the Readings, Reflective Questions and Commentary and realhomilie together for you this week….I have just been too tired! In due course, and it is my Mum’s wish to have another Sheltie pup, so we have had to work through all of this as well. My Mum very wisely said to us the other day, ‘God gives us these gifts for only a short time, and we must always make the best of them.’ That was said with tears in her eyes…..

So, next week, I will be back in action, but I can’t go without sharing something on God’s Word, so here are the Readings, then I will offer a mini, mini realhomilie.

I have had a number of people send emails to me about the FUNNIES, especially questions about the story about the Village of Finuge…is it true? Is it all made up etc? I will devote a short chapter to answer your questions….

Please keep in mind the coming econference of Matthew’s Gospel.

Also, the on line inspire library, put together by Colin Lee is very good and inspiring Looking for inspiration and enthusiasm…what about your Teenage kids? Do check out:

Welcome to Inspire Library

I highly recommend a very inspirational, and thought provoking website hosted by Colin Lee, International
Presenter, Coach in Senior Pure Maths, Science and Real life. His website is: www.inspirelibrary.com    Colin and I have worked in Ministry together for a number of years, in the areas of Biblical Drama, Liturgy, Youth Ministry, Public speaking, Sacramental formation, and Ministry to the sick and infirm.  This is a great website…pass it onto your Teens….

With every good wish,

Sincerely in Christ, the Lord,

Fr.Kev

THE READINGS FOR THE 23RD SUNDAY YEAR A.

First Reading: Ezekiel 33:7-9

The word of the Lord was addressed to me as follows, ‘Son of man, I have appointed you as sentry to the House of Israel. When you hear a word from my mouth, warn them in my name. If I say to a wicked man: Wicked wretch, you are to die, and you do not speak to warn the wicked man to renounce his ways, then he shall die for his sin, but I will hold you responsible for his death. If, however, you do warn a wicked man to renounce his ways and repent, and he does not repent, then he shall die for his sin, but you yourself will have saved your life.’

This is the word of the Lord. Thanks be to God.

RESPONSORIAL PSALM:           Psalm: Ps 94:1-2. 6-9

R. If today you hear his voice! Harden not your hearts.

Come, ring out our joy to the Lord; hail the rock who saves us.

Let us come before him, giving thanks, with songs let us hail the Lord. R.

Come in; let us bow and bend low; let us kneel before the God who made us for he is our God and we the people who belong to his pasture, the flock that is led by his hand. R.

O that today you would listen to his voice! ‘Harden not your hearts as at Meribah, as on that day at Massah in the desert when your fathers put me to the test; when they tried me, though they saw my work.’ R.

 Second Reading: Romans 13:8-10

Avoid getting into debt, except the debt of mutual love. If you love your fellow men you have carried out your obligations. All the commandments: You shall not commit adultery, you shall not kill, you shall not steal, you shall not covet, and so on, are summed up in this single command: You must love your neighbour as yourself. Love is the one thing that cannot hurt your neighbour; that is why it is the answer to every one of the commandments.

This is the word of the Lord. Thanks be to God.

Gospel: Matthew 18:15-20

Jesus said to his disciples: ‘If your brother does something wrong, go and have it out with him alone, between your two selves. If he listens to you, you have won back your brother. If he does not listen, take one or two others along with you: the evidence of two or three witnesses is required to sustain any charge. But if he refuses to listen to these, report it to the community; and if he refuses to listen to the community, treat him like a pagan or a tax collector.

‘I tell you solemnly, whatever you bind on earth shall be considered bound in heaven; whatever you loose on earth shall be considered loosed in heaven.

‘I tell you solemnly once again, if two of you on earth agree to ask anything at all, it will be granted to you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three meet in my name, I shall be there with them.’

This is the Gospel of the Lord. Praise to you, Lord Jesus Christ.

Dear One and All,

The response to the Psalm is a beauty! What a great Twitter message? It is one of those snippets from the Scriptures that need to be munched on…like honeycomb! Then enjoying every little bit of it. As it says in Scripture, ‘ The mouth of the just meditates wisdom’. To mediate is not just to think over and move on; to mediate is to enjoy the Word like honeycomb! It does us well to have this response on an ‘echo mode’ in our minds.

You know how you find a song on the Radio that you just can’t get out of your mind? It can be the same for this antiphon…….How do I hear His voice? When have I heard His voice? Where did I hear His voice? We need to fine tune ourselves into God’s frequency, because we know for sure that God is in our frequency, in real digital sound!

Our lives can be just so busy, that we might say to ourselves from time to time….I just don’t have time to stop! If that is the case, and it is easier said than done; we are just too busy.  Do you know that when one lives in a Monastery, one can be too busy to pray?  That has happened to me over the years, more times than I would like to think about. So, the silence within can be acquired at any time of the day, and in any place.

When we read and proclaim the Scriptures, we need to get into the Word! We need to feel it! We need to enter into the mood of it….if we just rattle through it like a Bondi Tram, it is over and done with before we have tasted it. LORD, WHAT ARE YOU SAYING TO ME THROUGH YOUR WORD TODAY?

   LORD, WHEN DID I SEE YOUR FACE IN MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS TODAY?

   LORD, WHEN DID I HEAR YOU IN SILENCE?

If today you hear his voice, harden not your hearts………………………something to much on…

Good night and God Bless you and your families, and let’s never forget each other in prayerful conversation,

Cheers,

Fr.Kev

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
